Discover Ashfield Awards Winners 2022

Wednesday, November 30, 2022

Discover Ashfield Award Winners 2022

Discover Ashfield celebrates all that is best about living, visiting, working, studying and doing business in Ashfield and the awards were the perfect way to recognise all those who are doing great work within the District.  

The event was held at the new Kirkby Leisure Centre, compered by Sutton’s Takeover Radio DJ, Ken Mead, with entertainment from local artist Ollie Hayes and the showcasing of the 2022 Photography Competition winning images from Mia Ludlam, Adrian Seaman and Rachel Collins.

Chief Executive Theresa Hodgkinson and Director of Place and Communities, Robert Docherty attended the event and had chance to speak to those involved and offer their congratulations to the winners.

The awards were presented by Discover Ashfield ambassadors including the Chair of Discover Ashfield, Martin Rigley, Chief Executive Officer of Lindhurst Engineering and Vice Chair Louise Knott, Vice Principal of West Notts College. When Louise was asked what message would she give to Ashfield’s young people she said “Dream big, do what you love and stay local”.

Succeed in Ashfield Winners

Business Improvement - RM Resources

High Street Business of the Year - Sauce & Brown

Shining Star in Sport - Brooke Butler 

Shining Star in Academia - Boys Brigade Hucknall

Shining Star in Art - Sarah Newcombe 

STEM Inspiration - Innovation Nottinghamshire

                         - Kier Group 


Love Where You Live 

Community Organisation - Mansfield Boxing Academy 

                                     - Ashfield Voluntary Action 

Ashfield's Hero - Claire Finn 

Ashfield's Young Hero - Ruth Lamb 

More to Discover

Park of the Year - Huthwaite Welfare Park

Venue of the Year - Ashfield Rugby Club 

                           - Mill Waters Café

                           - Arunothai 

Ashfield Ambassador - Sue West 

                               - Jackie West 

                               - Lynn Riley

                               - Hayley Carrington 

Be Healthy Be Happy

Health & Wellbeing Project - Active Minds CIC

Carer Award - Andrea Reeves 


There were also a number of Special Recognition Awards presented on the evening. 

  • Liz Barrett OBE - for services to education
  • Ashfield's NHS
  • Gary Jordan MBE - for services to the economy and community
  • Lieutenant Colonel Keith Spiers OBE – for pioneering new ways for the Army to engage with young people
  • Maryrose Philanthropy Award presented to Alan Rooksby for donating to the Leisure Centre for the community. 

Congratulations on all the winners and every person / organisation / business that was nominated.

We have some amazing people in Ashfield and should all be so proud. 

We look forward to seeing who we can recognise in 2023. 



All news